Monday, April 2, 2012

Shri A S Kiran Kumar takes over as Director of Space Applications Centre

Shri A S Kiran Kumar, Distinguished Scientist and Associate Director, Space Applications Centre (SAC), Ahmadabad, has assumed the office of Director, Space Applications Centre. He took over the charge from Dr R Navalgund, the outgoing Director.

Shri Kiran Kumar joined SAC/ISRO in 1975. He has made immense contribution to the design and development of Electro-Optical Imaging Sensors for Airborne, Low Earth Orbit and Geostationary orbit satellites starting from Bhaskara TV consignment to the latest Terrain Mapping Camera and Hyper spectral Imager payloads for Chandrayaan-1 mission. He has made very significant contributions to the task of evolving the observation strategy surrounding land, ocean, atmospheric and planetary studies.

As Associate Director of Space Applications Centre, Shri Kiran Kumar has steered the design and realization of communication, navigation, microwave and remote sensing payloads.
Shri Kiran Kumar obtained B.Sc (Honours) degree in Physics and M.Sc degree in Electronics from Bangalore University as well as M.Tech degree in Physical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Shri Kiran Kumar is the recipient of many success and awards like Indian Society of Remote Sensing Award for the year 1994, VASVIK award (Electronic Sciences and Technology) for the year 1998, Astronautical Society of India Award (Space Sciences and Applications) for the year 2001, ISRO Individual Service Award 2006, Bhaskara Award conferred by the Indian Society of Remote Sensing for the year 2007, success for Team Achievement Award 2008 of the International Academy of Astronautics and ISRO Performance excellence Award 2008.

He is a man of the National Academy of Engineers and Corresponding Member of the International Academy of Astronautics. Shri Kiran Kumar has represented ISRO in international forums like World Meteorological Organisation (WMO) and Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS) and is currently the Chairman of CEOS.